Booklist … and lists… and lists… and list… and then these

Screen Shot 2014-10-13 at 2.21.11 PM

Short on patience today, I was looking forward to navigating through a new resource that captured my attention and spoke volumes upon opening. The truth is far from that. Booklist‘s extensive information leaves no room for ease in navigation. What I found were incomplete reviews of books that I would love to read – or at least read the review completely. Without accessing a temporary account, I was unable to use the site to its fullest capacity. Surely, that should be the norm, but in this word of accessible resources and lack of gates I have grown accustomed. Conceding, I provided information that allowed me full membership for 14 days. Perusing the lists and mini-reviews of books at all levels, I click to the Common Core Resource page and settled into an article titled, “A Culture of Kindness.”  This article and list of books that encourage not only kind-hearted behaviors, but celebrate characters whose behaviors protect and safeguard underdogs raising the standards of appropriate kind behavior. The list of ten books accompanied by lesson plans for immediate teacher-use in elementary schools break the barriers of culture, disabilities, and differences and encourage the growing of hearts.

As I continued paving through the lists of reviews and articles, I knew that this treasure chest of information would guide me when I am considering titles, authors, and arts to include in a school library. However, an unexpected click led me to this little wonder and a significant giggle. Oh, these two little girls share the excitement over their memoir recounting one or two or a headful of little mistakes they made.

I giggled so loudly, that my little red-head wandered over to see the commotion. Intrigued, together we located another favorite author interview, John Scieszka. He discusses the entertainment of reading his book for the audio version.

Finally, listening to books, and watching authors and illustrators engage me in literature led me  and Isabella to her favorite young adult author, John Green. Here he discusses his well known book, and now movie, “The Fault in Our Stars.”

These resources, videos, reviews, and lists bring readers closer to the characters and to the intention of the author. Booklist’s extensive information leaving no room for ease in navigation intentionally captures the dedicated reader, librarian, or student. As a determined librarian, I can choose from the vast options of lists, lessons, videos, interviews, or reviews to encourage my dedicated and reluctant reader to meet for conversations about literature.

I'd love to hear from you.

