Picture Book Month and Padlet

I am pretty excited about including parents, students, reading, and technology at home! The following is a copy of my teacher web post at school! I am looking forward to learning many new titles!

Screen Shot 2014-11-02 at 9.46.34 PM

Picture Book Month is an international literacy initiative that celebrates the print picture book during the month of November.

How many of you still love picture books? 

November is Picture Book Month and the perfect time to engage in reading aloud with your child! As parents of second graders, times  of intentional reading with your child slowly becomes a limited quantity. These 7 and 8 year olds begin independently reading and exploring non-fiction texts, chapter books, periodicals, and graphic novels. However, listening to a mature reader, the infections of voice and language, and character-building stories continues to enhance a child’s vocabulary, comprehension, and language skills regardless of age and desire to gain independence! Therefore, I’d like to encourage all families to spend time exploring the pleasure of picture books this month!

I created an electronic wall for us to share photographs, titles, and summaries! By double clicking on the wall you will be prompted to add a photograph, writing, or both with ease. Once added other class members with the link can read and review your addition. You can add as many book titles and photographs to our wall this month! I am very excited to see how our reading wall grows! Please, work with your child on this task. While I believe this site is safe for all, I do not encourage your child work at this site and complete the work without parent supervision!

Screen Shot 2014-11-02 at 10.37.28 PM
In order for you to access the wall, you will need to click the above wall and a password. Please, watch for the password in an upcoming email. If you do not receive it, contact me at jmmurk@d47.org. Thank you for participating!

One thought on “Picture Book Month and Padlet

  1. I LOVE picture books!!! What a great video! Love the Padlet and encouraging parents to read and share their favorites. I hope they post their responses and photos. I love the idea and will share it with my students’ families.

    Like

I'd love to hear from you.

